Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RDG 030 Prof. O'Brien-Smith: Library Project: Why is it called Lou Gehrig's Disease?

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the last column to locate information about your topic.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Databases from Home

               

 You can use the databases from home!
Click on the database link.

 When prompted, enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).

Search for the articles as directed on this page!

 

Finding Articles About Lou Gehrig

Why is ALS called Lou Gehrigs Disease?

To find good articles for this part of your project, use one of the databases in the box to the right. The example below is from Academic Search Complete. Click on Advanced Search.  Enter the keywords Lou Gehrig's Disease in the first line. Enter name in the second line.  Click on Search. This is how it should look.

When your results appear, scroll through the entries to find an article that meets your needs.  You can hover over the magnifying glass to gt a summary of the article first. Look to see if the words full text are included in the listing.

It may say html or pdf. Either one will work. The pdf version will look like the scanned image of the article as it appreared in the magazine.

Once you have found a good article, you may print it, email it or download it to your computer.

If you are using Infotrac General Onefile, the tools will look like this:

 For information about citing the article, click on the MLA Citations tab at the top of this LibGuide.

Find Articles in These Databases