Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RDG 030 Prof. O'Brien-Smith: Library Project: People Living with ALS

Articles about People with ALS: Infotrac Onefile Database

Infotrac General Onefile is a great database to find articles about people living with ALS. Check out the instructions below. Then click on the link at the bottom of this box to search the database for an article you can use.

In the subject box, enter Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis. ( If you put in Lou Gehrig's Disease, you will be asked to click on Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis.)

Next, click on the + sign next to the word Subdivisions under the main heading. Scroll down on the subdivisions until you see the subheading "Personal Narratives." Click on that link to locate articles about people with ALS. In this example, there are 46 articles listed.

 

Scroll through the results and look for an article that suits your needs. Make sure the full text is available.

Use the tool box on the left to print, email or download the article.

 

Articles about People with ALS: Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is another great database to find articles about people living with ALS. Check out the directions here. Then click on the link to the database at the bottom of this page.

First click on Advanced Search. Then, enter the terms Lou Gehrig's Disease in the first search box followed by personal in the second box. Cick search and a list of articles will appear.

Scroll through the results to find an article that meets your needs.  Make sure the full text is available.

         

If you need to print, email or download the articles, use the tools in the database.