Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RDG 030 Prof. O'Brien-Smith: Library Project: Definition of Lou Gehrig's Disease

How to Use this Page

This page gives you several different databases to use to get a good definition of Lou Gehrig's Disease. Each box has instructions and a link to the database.

Try any of all of them to complete this part of the assignment.   

Definiton of the Disease: Health Reference Database

To find a definition of Lou Gehrig's Disease use Health Reference Database- Consumer Edition. You may be redirected to the subject amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, the technical term for the illness.  The link to the database is at the bottom of this box.

This is what you will find when you do the search.

Click on the Medical Dictionary link. Enter your search terms. When your results are displayed, click on the name of the disease.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains digital versions of reference books such as the Encyclopedia of Medicine and the Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders. Search for Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or ALS to locate excellent overviews of the disease. The link to the database is at the bottom of this box.

Select one of the articles in the results list to locate a good definition of ALS.  Use the tools in the upper left to print, save or email the material.

Definition of the Disease: Nursing Reference Center Database

The Nursing Reference Center has several ways to locate a good definition of Lou Gehrig's Disease. First, click on the Patient Education tab and enter Lou Gehrig's Disease or Amyotrohpic lateral sclerosis to find an excellent definition with full explanation of the illness. The link to this database is at the bottom of this box.

 

Or you can click on the Diseases & Conditions tab for a definition and overview written by a nurse.

Lastly, you can click on the Practice Resources tab and click on the book, Diseases and Disorders. Enter the name of the disease to retreive a complete definition and description of the disease.

Definition of the Disease: Magill's Medical Guide/Salem Database

Magill's Medical Guide (part of Salem Health Databases) is an ebook that provides online access to Salem Press’ award-winning Magill’s Medical Guide. Search for Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis in the search box. Select Top Matter/Keywords in the "In" pulldown menu. The link to this database is at the bottom of the box.

Take Our Poll!

Which of the databases on this page did you use for a definition of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis? Tell us why by clicking on the Comments link. Thank you for helping us improve our resource offerings.

Take Our Poll!
Health Reference Center: 2 votes (66.67%)
Nursing Reference Center: 1 votes (33.33%)
Gale Virtual Reference Center: 0 votes (0%)
Magill's Medical Database: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3