LibGuides: eBooks and Mobile Options: Databases with eBooks

Books in Databases

Many databases include chapters or complete ebooks within their collections.

Browse the list in the right-hand column to find which databases contain ebooks.

Working with PDF Files

Most of the ebook content found in databases will be in pdf format. It is important to locate the adobe acrobat toolbar to print, or save a pdf document.

Hover over the text until the gray toolbar appears.
Click on the logo.
Then, access the tools from the top of the document.

Databases with Ebooks by Subject

ENGLISH/LITERATURE

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of writers from every age and literary discipline. Includes Scribner Writer's Series essays on authors and plus Twayne Literary Masters books on world famous authors.
Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Has pdf excerpts of articles and chapters from critical works.
Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes chapters from books of criticism, essays and biographies of authors.

SOCIAL SCIENCES

Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
History Reference Works This link opens in a new window
This database contains information from various reference books: Fifties, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties and Nineties in American; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals, The Middle Ages, Renaissance and The Ancient World; and Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century; Milestone Documents: African American History, American History and World HIstory.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature in sociology and related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books and dissertations.

HEALTH/NURSING

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Stat!Ref is a collection of medical-nursing and allied health ebooks. It includes Board Vitals, a bank of test questions for the NCLEX.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. There are also abstracts and indexing for nearly 650 journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes reference books related to health and medical topics.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes several full-text reference books such as Taber's, Concept Mapping and Davis's Drug Guide.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue, such as: cloning, immigration, aids.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed