Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IDEAS: Faculty Learning Community: Databases and Resources

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to begin your research.

Resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals,  books and educational videos. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources."  

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Databases

NCC Library subscribes to over 60 databases that may be searched on campus or off. Select the database that reflects your interest or use a general database to start. 

GENERAL DATABASES

SUBJECT-SPECIFIC DATABASES

To locate a database by subject, click on the button below and then use the databases by subject button. 

A-Z Database List
Go to A-Z List

How to Search and Limit Results

To help narrow your search do an Advanced Search. Click on Advanced Search. Enter your keywords using the AND connector. The database will look for articles that contain both of your key words.

Here is an example from Academic Search Complete:

Your results will include articles from magazines, newspapers and journals. To limit your results, use the limit box on the left of the screen. Check magazines, for instance and then click update.  The remaining results will be magazine articles.

Select an article that addresses your research question and includes five points about your topic.