Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Surgical Technology Program: Databases and Articles

What is Peer Reviewed?

Scholarly or peer-reviewed journals include articles that have been written by specialists in the field and reviewed by specialists before they are accepted for publication.

Popular magazines such as Time or newspapers such as The New York Times have valid information but are NOT peer-reviewed.

You can limit your search to a peer-reviewed article when you are using a Library database such as  Health and Medicine or CINAHL.

 

Databases from Home

You can use the databases and holdings list  from home!  When prompted, enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).

 

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the box below to locate articles about the case  you are reviewing.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Medical and Health Databases

If you need an article on a specific comditon or case, use one of these databases. Search by subject or keywords.

Click on the Special Features tab for more information about individual database features!