| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Psychology: Streaming Media
Streaming Media at NCC
Nassau Community College now has three streaming sources, Films on Demand, Kanopy, AVON and Swank. The simplest way to access each of these sources is through the Stream a Video tab on our homepage.
Swank Digital Campus provides films for various courses. Films include classics, documentaries and contemporary selections. All films can be viewed both on and off campus. Browse our current selection of films at Swank.
Films On Demand
Films on Demand (FOD) is our streaming media database and includes hundreds of videos on psychology.
Browse the Psychology Collection and narrow down, or search by keywords in titles and segments.
Here are some examples of psychology videos in the FOD Database.
For more, click on the FOD link at the bottom.
- Divide of the Sexes: Gender Roles in ChildhoodWhy do boys underachieve? How does celebrity culture influence the self-esteem of young girls? In an atmosphere dominated by sex and consumerism, are children growing up too quickly? This program addresses those issues, reporting on a group of 25 eight-year-olds as they adjust to gender roles and expectations.
- Love TrapThis program studies the behavior of men and women as they experience the magical feeling of attraction; it also presents a lively look at what happens inside a love-struck brain.
- Recovering: Anorexia Nervosa and Bulimia NervosaThis video follows Peabody- and Emmy-winning documentary filmmaker Larkin McPhee (Dying to Be Thin) as she uncovers facts about eating disorders and the many challenges of coping with them.
- Sleep and the College StudentThis concise video helps students realize the importance of sleep in staying healthy, alert, and involved. It also offers practical perspectives on structuring activities and budgeting time so that sleep can be fully integrated into college life.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
Kanopy
Kanopy is another one of our streaming media database and includes hundreds of videos on psychology.
Browse by Subjects for Psychology and narrow down, or search by keywords in titles and segments.
Here are some examples of psychology videos in the Kanopy database.
- Happiness IsThe Declaration of Independence famously grants us the right to pursue happiness, Americans spend great amounts of time and energy chasing it. However, for many people, we're not even sure what it is that we're chasing. In result, inspired and intrigued by this "unalienable" right.
- Group Therapy: A Live DemonstrationGroup therapy sets the stage for a study in character and transformation in Yalom's novel. Master group therapist and teacher Molyn Leszcz leads two groups based on the characters and plot, which allows for the major themes and dynamics that occur in all working groups to quickly emerge in full force.
- Reject - Social Rejection and the Science of BelongingA scientific and solution-oriented look at the roots of bullying and violent behavior. Using brain imaging (fMRI) and a simple ball-tossing game, researchers demonstrate that the brain looks as though it is in actual physical pain when people are rejected, even when the person doing the rejecting is a total stranger.
- Cognitive Restructuring of Negative Automatic ThoughtsWatch a live demonstration of Cognitive Restructuring of Negative Automatic Thoughts in the context of a CBT session followed by a detailed analysis
Psychology Videos @NCC
Healing and the Mind by Call Number: Video R726.5 .H43 2009 7 Day Loan3 dvd set.
The Psychology of Power by Call Number: Video BF611 .P79 2008 7 Day Loan1 dvd.
These are some of the videos available at the NCC LIbrary. Use SearchALL advanced search to locate more. Limit your search to Audio/Visual or Videos.
KOKO: The Talking GorillaCall Number: Video QL737.P96 K64 2006 7 Day Loan1 dvd.The Stanford Prison Experiment by
Call Number: Video HV6089 .Q54 2003 7 Day Loan1 dvd.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
