| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Nursing Information Literacy Tutorial
Why Books?
If you want to learn about the life of a particular person, or the history/background of an issue or topic, a book can cover much more material than an article. Some books collect important essays discussing many angles of a topic, and many books are written by scholars; however, books take time to research and write, so while books have in-depth coverage, they might not always have the most recent information. Books are a great source to get an overview of a topic.
Sometimes periodical articles are sufficient for a research paper, but often you will need to combine books with magazine and journal articles. If your topic is not too recent or specialized, books might be a good option. The large amount of periodicals published makes it more likely that you will find articles on very narrow subjects which might not be easy to find represented in books.
Using Reference Information Sources
Reference information sources can be helpful when beginning the research process. They can give you a working knowledge of your chosen subject area.
- You can gain a broad and general understanding of the topic, or background information.
- You can learn the important names, key facts, issues and debates, and answers to questions.
- You can get familiar with the vocabulary of the subject area so you can understand new terminology and formulate good keyword searches.
Dictionaries
Dictionaries provide word definitions and other information about words. There are many other types of dictionaries.
- A bilingual dictionary translates from one language to another.
- A thesaurus contains synonyms, and often antonyms, for words.
- An etymological dictionary contains historical word origins.
- A subject dictionary is a good source for longer and more in-depth definitions using the vocabulary of a particular area of study.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Taber's 22 brings meanings to life! A special gift for the special health professional in your life. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team ofexpert consulting editors and consultants, representing nearly everyhealth care profession, ensures that the content reflects the mostcurrent healthcare information. Leather bound with gold leaf pages and a ribbon bookmark, this collectible version of Taber's ideal for the health professional's library.
Call Number: Available through the Nursing Reference Center DatabaseISBN: 0803629796
Biographical Resources
Biographical resources contain information about the lives and accomplishments of notable people in various fields of achievement or areas of study.
Nursing's Great Leaders by
AuThis book is perfect for men and women who aspire to lead nursing and society into a better future. It will equally benefit undergraduate students enrolled in leadership courses, graduate students preparing for leadership roles, and nurses already established in leadership roles. This book] deepened my love for nursing and reinforced why nursing is repeatedly ranked the most trusted profession. Au AiSusan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Senior Adviser for Nursing Director, Campaign for Action With an emphasis on the qualities that have fostered strong nursing leadership, this book provides a unique perspective on the lives and achievements ofthe most revered nurses throughout history. It is comprised of biographies of many of nursing Aos most important activist agents of change, with a focus onthose characteristics that enabled them to accomplish their goals and implement changes that improved nursing, health, health care, and society. Thesebiographies examine the evolution of nursing and society around the globe and underscore the resourcefulness and political savvy these nurses used to meetthe increasingly complex needs of society. Using Kouzes and Posner Aos five practices of exemplary leadership as a framework, the biographies demonstrate how the nurses used these processes to achievetheir goals. Placed within the context and dynamics of each nurse leader Aos lifetime Aiincluding gender roles, science and technology, religion, politics, andeconomics Aieach biography includes a personal history, timeline, accomplishments, anecdotes, and legacy. The book honors such well-known nurse leaders asFlorence Nightingale, Clara Barton, and Dorothea Dix, along with lesser known nurse leaders. By telling the stories of these luminaries, the book showcasesnursing Aos rich history and its influence on society. Ultimately fostering an understanding of the very nature of leadership, it provides a strongfoundation and inspiration for nurses to lead nursing, health care, and society into a better future. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on nursing history through the lens of leadership Uses the framework of Kouzes and Posner Aos five practices of exemplary leadership to analyze the achievements of nurse luminaries Considers the lives of well-known and lesser known figures in nursing history Focuses on leadership characteristics that enabled historic nurse leaders to implement important changes in global health care "
Call Number: RT34 .N87 2016ISBN: 0826130070Publication Date: 2016-02-26
Handbooks and Guides
Handbooks and Guides contain detailed, advanced information about a particular subject area. This can include facts about a subject or instructions for operating a device or completing a procedure.
Handbook of Nursing DiagnosisCall Number: RT48.6 .C385 2017 Hourly ReserveISBN: 9781496353702Publication Date: 2017
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
