| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Nursing Information Literacy Tutorial
Textbooks & Reserve Books
Copies of textbooks and books put on reserve by your professors are available at the Reserve Room L102 in the Library. You will need the call number and your Nassau ID to use a reserve text. Reserve books may be used in the Library for two hours at a time. These are some of the reserve texts in the Library.
Kozier and Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing by
For fundamentals of nursing courses in the nursing curriculum Help each student think like a nurse using a clear, consistent approach Consistency and accessibility are essential to student success in the Fundamentals of Nursing course. With its clear, approachable, writing style, Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing sets the foundation for nursing excellence. Coverage of the key concepts of contemporary nursing, as well as the latest nursing evidence, standards, and competencies, helps prepare readers to become effective nurses. To help students develop their clinical-reasoning abilities, new QSEN features draw connections to actual nursing practice. All basic and fundamental skills for the registered nurse are described within the nursing process. Students will learn to think like nurses as they see how the material they are reading is applied in nursing practice. Also available with MyNursingLab#65533; This title is also available with MyNursingLab--an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to engage students in the Fundamentals of Nursing course and improve results. Its guided learning path is proven to help students think like a nurse as they move beyond memorization to true understanding through application. NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyNursingLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyNursingLab, search the Pearson website. MyNursingLab should only be purchased when required by an instructor. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyNursingLab, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. Offer a consistent, seamless skills component Because the Berman textbook and Skills books are written by the same author team, fundamentals students experience a seamless presentation, style, and experience throughout. Contact your Pearson representative to package Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing, Tenth Edition with the authors' Skills in Clinical Nursing, Eighth Edition ISBN: 013399743X.
Call Number: RT41 .F8813 2016 Hourly ReserveISBN: 0133974367Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Clinical Handbook for Medical-Surgical Nursing by
The Clinical Handbook for Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care is a handy, pocket-sized reference for the care of patients with health problems often encountered in clinical situations. While primarily developed as a supplement to the Sixth Edition of Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care , to which it is cross-referenced by chapter, the Clinical Handbook may also be used as a stand-alone reference text. It provides nursing students essential information in an easy-to-follow format, allowing them to respond quickly when a patient's condition changes or when they are assigned to a new patient.
Call Number: RT41 .M4933 2016 Hourly ReserveISBN: 0134225406Publication Date: 2015-08-24
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique by
For over 50 years, Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique, 13th Edition has been the text of choice for understanding basic surgical principles and techniques. Highly readable, accurate, and comprehensive, it clearly covers the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format that makes it easy to effectively apply basic principles to clinical practice. Expert author Nancymarie Phillips emphasizes the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this updated and expanded new edition gives students the knowledge they need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhances your understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help you learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care parameters of all patients. Focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Content on perioperative patient care for both inpatient and ambulatory procedures highlights key considerations for each setting, as well as for individual surgical procedures. Chapter outlines with page numbers, chapter objectives, and key terms and definitions help you quickly find important information and focus your study time. New illustrations reflect new and changing perioperative procedures, and provide you with key safety information like how to maintain a sterile field, gown, and glove. Enhanced TEACH manual and extensive Evolve resources maximize classroom learning. All Evolve materials are highlighted within the text. Step-by-step coverage of the foundations of surgical techniques enables you to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Additional and updated tables and boxes call attention to the most important concepts from the text. References highlight the evidence-based practice approach used throughout the text. Enhanced! A strong safety focus includes increased coverage of malignant hyperthermia, bullying and zero-tolerance policies, airway fire, verbal orders, medications, patient identification, pharmacology for bariatric patients, calculating blood loss, National Patient Safety Goals, and more. NEW! "Pros and Cons" boxes provide the positive and negative aspects of specific perioperative practices, allowing nurses to better understand their choices in patient care. Improved! Emphasis on quality gives you the most current information on magnet status, performing an effective 5-minute assessment, the nurse practitioner as first assistant, accurately marking specimens, patient positioning, surgical conscience, and working with outsiders inside the OR environment. NEW! Coverage of new equipment, including: sponge-counting machines, Lapra-TY, silver-infused dressings, neat suture books, and more. NEW! Body Spectrum added to Evolve site to help you review anatomy and physiology.
Call Number: RD32.3 .P48 2017 Hourly ReserveISBN: 0323399266Publication Date: 2016-03-04
- NASCAT (Find Books)Use this link to the catalog to search for additional books.
Find Nursing eBooks in STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref, a collection of 26 medical-nursing health eBooks provides digital access to current texts and reference works. These books may be used on-campus or from home. Contents include Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000. View this video for more information.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowStat!Ref is a collection of medical-nursing and allied health ebooks. It includes Board Vitals, a bank of test questions for the NCLEX.
Nursing eBooks in Nursing Reference Center
In the Practice Resources tab, you will find many reference eBooks.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text documents, covering diseases & conditions, labs & diagnostics, as well as drug & reference information; it also includes best practices guidelines, continuing education modules, and patient education information.
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
