| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Nutrition Research for NTR 195 & 198 classes: Research Articles
Research
A research article is also referred to as primary research or original research. Though several of NCC's library databases will limit to research articles, you should check to make sure that the article contains:
- Literature Review or Background
- Methods
- Results
- Conclusions
- Discussion
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
To Find research articles in Science Direct:
1) Select Advanced Search
2) Select Research articles
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
To Find Primary Sources in CINAHL:
1) Select Advanced Search
2) Limit to research articles
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowTo Find Primary Sources in NEJM:
1) Go to Advanced Search
2) Under Article Category, select Research Article
(Hold down the CTRL key to select multiple items in the list)
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition This link opens in a new windowTo Find Primary Sources in AJCN:
1) Go to Advanced Search
2) Under article types, select Research Article
(Hold down the CTRL key to select multiple items in the list)
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Print, Email, Save
All databases have tools for printing, emailing and saving articles.
Look for the icons on the page.
Other Databases
The NCC Library has many databases that offer information on health & nutrition. Please remember to make sure your article is a research article. Many of the articles you will find will not contain original research.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-Text coverage for more than 1,470 medical journals dating back to 1965.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
- JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage from 1998 to current issues.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowInformational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
- Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (JOPERD), an official publication of the Society of Health and Physical Educators , is a peer-reviewed, four-color, professional journal. Continuously published since 1896, JOPERD serves as an authoritative, professional source for educators in physical education, sport, recreation, and dance in all settings. It provides the information needed to assist students and clients in learning motor skills, improving fitness, and pursuing physical activity and sport participation safely and appropriately. JOPERD features articles about teaching methods, curriculum, teacher preparation, professional issues, coaching, youth sports, fitness, recreation, and dance.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
