| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | Closed | |
| Saturday | 12:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Jewish Studies: Ebooks
Ebook Database
The Library has access to many ebooks through our ebook database. Search for "Jews and Culture" or Jews and _______ (specific area or country.)
You may read these books online or download to a computer or ereader
You must create a free account to download the books.
When using this database from home, you will be asked for your N# and PIN.
- eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThe EBSCO eBook Academic Subscription Collection offers cross-searchable access to a multidisciplinary library of over 83,000 high quality, unlimited user ebooks from over 450 publishers in addition to library-owned EBSCO ebooks.
Working with PDF Documents
Documents may appear in PDF format. They are the scanned image of the actual article. To print,email or save a PDF, you must use the Adobe toolbar.
To locate the toolbar, hover over the document with your cursor. The floating bar will appear. Click on the Adobe logo to dock the toolbar.
Once you click, your tools will appear above the document.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The GVRL has many digital references books with relevant articles on Jewish communities. Search by keywords to locate articles. You can print, email and even download the articles to an ereader!
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
Encyclopedia Judaica
The Encyclopedia Judaica features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Use the Search within Publication feature to look for a particular country or community.
Selected eBooks on Jewish Studies
Space and Place in Jewish Studies by
Scholars in the humanities have become increasingly interested in questions of how space is produced and perceived--and they have found that this consideration of human geography greatly enriches our understanding of cultural history. This "spatial turn" equally has the potential to revolutionize Jewish Studies, complicating familiar notions of Jews as "people of the Book," displaced persons with only a common religious tradition and history to unite them. Space and Place in Jewish Studies embraces these exciting critical developments by investigating what "space" has meant within Jewish culture and tradition--and how notions of "Jewish space," diaspora, and home continue to resonate within contemporary discourse, bringing space to the foreground as a practical and analytical category. Barbara Mann takes us on a journey from medieval Levantine trade routes to the Eastern European shtetl to the streets of contemporary New York, introducing readers to the variety of ways in which Jews have historically formed communities and created a sense of place for themselves. Combining cutting-edge theory with rabbinics, anthropology, and literary analysis, Mann offers a fresh take on the Jewish experience.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012-02-10
Jewish Studies by
Jewish Studies, the first volume in a groundbreaking new series, Key Words in Jewish Studies, introduces the basic approach of the series by organizing discussion around key concepts in the field that have emerged over the last two centuries: history and science, race and religion, self and community, identity and memory. The book is oriented by contemporary critical theory, especially feminist and postcolonial studies, and the multidisciplinary approaches of cultural studies. By looking backward and forward--and across continents and disciplines--to unearth the evolution of the scholarly study of Jews, Andrew Bush provides a comprehensive introduction to the development of Jewish studies from the turn of the nineteenth century to the present. In the course of engaging scholarship on periods from the classical to the contemporary and from the disciplines of history, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, psychology, and literary studies, Bush questions male-dominated and Ashkenazi-centric visions of the field. He concludes with an experimental exposition of a new Jewish studies for a time where attention to difference has overtaken the security of canons and commonalities.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2011-03-08
Jewish Culture and Society in North Africa by
With only a small remnant of Jews still living in the Maghrib at the beginning of the 21st century, the vast majority of today's inhabitants of North Africa have never met a Jew. Yet as this volume reveals, Jews were an integral part of the North African landscape from antiquity. Scholars from Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Israel, and the United States shed new light on Jewish life and Muslim-Jewish relations in North Africa through the lenses of history, anthropology, language, and literature. The history and life stories told in this book illuminate the close cultural affinities and poignant relationships between Muslims and Jews, and the uneasy coexistence that both united and divided them throughout the history of the Maghrib.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2011-07-01
Jewish Mysticism and Kabbalah by
Over the past generation, scholars have devoted increasing attention to the diverse forms that Jewish mysticism has taken both in the past and today: what was once called “nonsense” by Jewish scholars has generated important research and attention both within the academy and beyond, as demonstrated by the popular fascination with figures such as Madonna and Demi Moore and the growing interest in spirituality. InJewish Mysticism and Kabbalah, leading experts introduce the history of this scholarship as well as the most recent insights and debates that currently animate the field in a way that is accessible to a broad audience. From mystical outpourings in ancient Palestine to the Kabbalah Centre, and from attitudes towards gender to mystical contributions to Jewish messianic movements, this volume explores the various expressions of Jewish mysticism from antiquity to the present day in an engaging style appropriate for students and non-specialists alike.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2011-11-01
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
