| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
MDC 102: Making of the Modern Mind II: Literature
What Is A Database?
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the right hand column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Literature Databases
TOP CHOICES FOR ARTICLES, PLOT OVERVIEWS, AUTHOR INFORMATION
Use advanced search to include all terms in your search. Look for full-text. If full-text is not available, click on the "Full-text options" to see if it may be in another database. If not, use Interlibrary Loan to request the item from another library. Check out the box on the left for more information about it.
- Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new windowProvides literary criticism from essays, books and articles in pdf format.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIn the search screen, select "name of work" to focus on a certain title.
- MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new windowDefinitive online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries and information on over 1,500 notable authors.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
Literary Reference Series in Print
The Library has many multi-volume series that contain author information and literary criticism. Some of these series are in the Reference area on the first floor, while others are in the Circulating Collection on the third floor. Click here to learn more or use the search box below to locate them.
Books marked Reference are on the first floor to the left.
Books marked Circulating, with call numbers A-N are on the second floor.
Books marked Circulating, with call numbers P-Z are on the third floor.
Need help finding a book? Ask at the Help desk on the 2nd floor.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
