| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Engineering Programs @ NCC
Copies of textbooks and books put on reserve by your professors are available in the Reserve Room L102 in the Library. You will need the call number and your NCC ID to use a reserve text. Reserve books may be used in the Library for two hours at a time. Below are some examples of the reserve books available in Engineering. For the full selection of titles, search the Library's homepage.
Applied Fluid Mechanics by
The leading applications-oriented approach to engineering fluid mechanics is now in full color, with integrated software, new problems, and extensive new coverage. Now in full color with an engaging new design, Applied Fluid Mechanics, Seventh Edition, is the fully updated edition of the most popular applications-oriented approach to engineering fluid mechanics. It offers a clear and practical presentation of all basic principles of fluid mechanics (both statics and dynamics), tying theory directly to real devices and systems used in mechanical, chemical, civil, and environmental engineering. The 7th edition offers new real-world example problems and integrates the use of an online downloadable demo of world-renowned PIPE-FLO® software for piping system analysis and design. It presents new procedures for problem-solving and design; more realistic and higher quality illustrations; and more coverage of many topics, including hose, plastic pipe, tubing, pumps, viscosity measurement devices, and computational fluid mechanics. Full-color images and color highlighting make charts, graphs, and tables easier to interpret organize narrative material into more manageable "chunks," and make all of this text's content easier to study. Teaching and Learning Experience This applications-oriented introduction to fluid mechanics has been redesigned and improved to be more engaging, interactive, and pedagogically effective. Completely redesigned in full color, with additional pedagogical features, all designed to engage today's students: This edition contains many new full-color images, upgraded to improve realism, consistency, graphic quality, and relevance. New pedagogical features have been added to help students explore ideas more widely and review material more efficiently. Provides more hands-on practice and real-world applications, including new problems: Includes new real-world example problems and supplementary problems. Students can access an online downloadable demo of the popular PIPE-FLO® software to complete select activities. Updated and refined to reflect the latest products, tools, and techniques: Contains updated data and analysis techniques, improved problem solving and design techniques, new content on many topics, and extensive new references.
Call Number: CET240 Reserve Main CIRC DeskISBN: 9780132558921Publication Date: 2014-01-22
Architectural Graphic Standards by
The 'Architect's Bible' since 1932, updated with the latest codes and standards Architectural Graphic Standards is the written authority for architects, designers, and building contractors. It provides comprehensive guidance on the visual representation of materials, products, systems, and assemblies. Updated to reflect the most current codes and standards, this new 12th edition features over 300 new drawings, tables, and designs and twenty-five percent new content. In response to architects' feedback and overwhelming demand for a more graphics-heavy format, this edition employs shorter, more accessible texts and more images of the standards and evolution of design and construction. New coverage includes building resiliency and the building envelope, expert discussion on the fundamentals of design and construction documentation, and new examination of environmental factors and material properties and performance. Sustainable Design is no longer separated, but incorporated throughout, and extensive appendices keep useful data right at your fingertips. Graphic standards are essential to building design. They cover everything from door frames and roof designs to air ducts and outdoor sports facilities. This meticulous resource provides a compendium of planning standards, optimum dimensions, and normative construction details. The book is organized into three core sections covering: design and documentation, materials, and building elements. Architectural Graphic Standards features: Key architectural design and production processes--functional planning, environmental assessment, building resiliency, and architectural construction documentation Thorough coverage of materials: concrete, masonry, metals, wood, plastics, composites, and glass An exhaustive survey of building elements--substructures, shells, services, equipment, furnishings, special structures, and siteworks Comprehensive appendixes filled with pertinent data such as: classic architectural elements, mathematical data, and structural calculations Endorsed by the American Institute of Architects, this book has an enduring and unsurpassed reputation for high-quality illustration, text, and graphic design. For crucial information in a user-friendly format, Architectural Graphic Standards is the go-to reference on building design and construction.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TH2031 .A84 2016ISBN: 9781118909508Publication Date: 2016-03-21
Construction Estimating Using Excel by
For beginning to intermediate courses in construction estimating in two- and four-year construction management programs. A step-by-step, hands-on introduction to commercial and residential estimating Construction Estimating with Excel, 3/e, introduces readers to the fundamental principles of estimating using drawing sets, real-world exercises, and examples. The book moves step-by-step through the estimating process, discussing the art of estimating, the quantity takeoff, how to put costs to the estimate, and how to finalize the bid. As students progress through the text they are shown how Microsoft Excel can be used to improve the estimating process. Because it introduces spreadsheets as a way of increasing estimating productivity and accuracy, the book can help both beginning and experienced estimators improve their skills. The Third Edition gives students a broader understanding of construction estimating with a new chapter discussing the role that estimating plays in different project delivery methods and in the design process and how to use data from RSMeans. To bring the book up to date, the material and equipment costs and labor rates have been updated to reflect current costs, and the discussion of Excel (including the figures) is based on Excel 2016. Additionally, content throughout the book has been updated to align to ACCE and ABET student learning outcomes. Student resources are available on the companion website www.pearsonhighered.com/careersresources/.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TH437 .P357 2018ISBN: 0134405501Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Digital electronics : a practical approach with VHDL by
Digital Electronics: A Practical Approach with VHDL, Ninth Edition, offers students an easy-to-learn-from resource that emphasizes practical application of circuit design, operation, and troubleshooting. Over 1,000 annotated color figures help explain circuit operation or emphasize critical components and input/output criteria. Throughout the text, the author employs a step-by-step approach that takes students from theory to example to application of the concepts. Over all nine editions, Kleitz has consistently sought out student feedback, along with his own experience of teaching the course in-class and on-line, to improve each new edition.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TK7868.D5 K55 2012ISBN: 0132543036Publication Date: 2011-07-18
Electronic devices : conventional current version by
For courses in basic electronics and electronic devices and circuits A user-friendly, hands-on introduction to electronic devices filled with practical applications and software simulation Electronic Devices (Conventional Current Version), 10/e, provides a solid foundation in basic analog electronics and a thorough introduction to analog integrated circuits and programmable devices. The text identifies the circuits and components within a system, helping students see how the circuit relates to the overall system function. Full-color photos and illustrations and easy-to-follow worked examples support the text's strong emphasis on real-world application and troubleshooting. Updated throughout, the Tenth Edition features selected circuits keyed to Multisim V14 and LT Spice files so that students learn how to simulate, analyze, and troubleshoot using the latest circuit simulation software. Additionally, an entirely new Chapter 18, "Communication Devices and Methods," introduces communication devices and systems.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TK7870 .F52 2018ISBN: 0134414446Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Introduction to Engineering Technology by
Introduction to Engineering Technology, Eighth Edition, explains the responsibilities of technicians and technologists in the dynamic world of engineering. The basic tools of engineering technology, including problem solving, calculator skills, conversion of units, geometry, computer skills, and technical reporting, are explained. Mathematical concepts are presented in a moderately-paced manner, including practical, worked-out examples for the engineering calculator. In addition to developing your skills in algebra, trigonometry, and geometry, this popular text also helps you to understand the broad spectrum of today's technologies.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TA157 .P66 2014ISBN: 0132840111Publication Date: 2013-12-23
Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction by
Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction presents information applicable to the carpentry, electrical, mechanical, and general building trades, and provides authentic printreading experiences using contemporary prints. Single and multifamily dwellings, plus mixed-use and light commercial project plans are covered in the textbook. Specifications describing the building components and construction procedures are also included for two of the projects, the Brick-Veneer Residence and the Wendy's® Restaurant.This edition includes information on a newly constructed 19,000 sq ft multistory veterinary center. Also included is updated coverage on building codes, the CSI MasterFormat(tm), LEED® certification, and green building technology, which complements the prints. A quantity takeoff chapter provides an introduction to the principles and techniques of printreading for quantity takeoff and can be used as a basis for a construction estimate.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TH431 .P7624 2016ISBN: 082690484XPublication Date: 2016-01-01
Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction by
Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction presents information applicable to the carpentry, electrical, mechanical, and general building trades, and provides authentic printreading experiences using contemporary prints. Single and multifamily dwellings, plus mixed-use and light commercial project plans are covered in the textbook. Specifications describing the building components and construction procedures are also included for two of the projects, the Brick-Veneer Residence and the Wendy's® Restaurant.This edition includes information on a newly constructed 19,000 sq ft multistory veterinary center. Also included is updated coverage on building codes, the CSI MasterFormat(tm), LEED® certification, and green building technology, which complements the prints. A quantity takeoff chapter provides an introduction to the principles and techniques of printreading for quantity takeoff and can be used as a basis for a construction estimate.
Call Number: Reserve Main CIRC Desk ; TH431 .P7624 2016ISBN: 9780826904843Publication Date: 2016-01-01
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
