| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Engineering Programs @ NCC
A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate research articles from scholarly journals.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals andbooks. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Students can use databases from home with their N# and PIN.
All Databases
All databases may be used from home. You will need your N# and PIN. 
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowProviding content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is a resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment.
- Computer Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
- National Fire Codes Subscription Service Free Access This link opens in a new windowNFPA makes its codes and standards available online to the public for free. Online access to NFPA's consensus documents conveniently places important safety information on the desktops of traditional users as well as others who have a keen interest.
No Full Text? What's Next!
Sometimes an article is not available in full text in the database. You may have an abstract (summary) or just a citation. If you cannot find another article, or you feel that this article is best suited for your research, you have a few options.
If you see, "Full Text Finder" click on the link to retrieve the article from another database.
The article might be available in our print collections. If the full-text link says the article is available in print, you must fill out a request slip and go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. Once you have the article, you can make a photocopy for your assignment.
If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary loan" option.
By selecting this link you will be able to get this article sent to you through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to sign in with your N# and Portal Password.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
