| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Engineering Programs @ NCC
Citations from Databases
Most of the databases will generate APA citations for you. Locat the citation link on the page of the article you are viewing.
If you are using CINAHL or another EBSCO database, the link will look like this:
If you are using AJN: American Journal of Nursing, you must be in the Search Results Screen. Put a check next to the article you wish to cite. Then, locate the Export link at the top.
Be sure to select, APA format, click Save and then Open.
The citation will open in a Word document. Copy and paste the citation. Make sure that only the first word of the article title is capitalized. Also, only include the first initial of each author and eliminate credentials.
A citation is a reference that gives a reader information about a source. It generally includes the author, title of the work or journal, title of the article, volume and issue number and date.
Digital articles often include a DOI number, or digital object identifier. This is the permanent link to an online article. There are several citation styles used by academics.
APA stands for American Psychological Association. Their standards for citation may be found in the Publication Manual of the APA. Check out the links below for more help and information about APA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include: new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations; and, new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media. This book includes significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electro physiological and biological data. It offers consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information. It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Look up additional supplemental material keyed to this book. This book lets you test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics. It lets you learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions. Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style. Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
Call Number: Ref BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 1433805596Publication Date: 2009-07-15
- The Writing Center (Bradley Hall & Library)The principal responsibility of the Writing Center is to advance the mission of the College by providing literacy instruction that fosters critical thinking and lifelong learning within an environment conducive to teaching and learning.
Citation Generators
Created by the Calvin College Heckman Library, KnightCite will create a formatted citation in APA style.
- Fill in all the boxes completely and correctly.
- If you use an article from a database, click yes when asked if the article was found online and yes when asked if it was from a database. Then enter the name of the database.
- Be sure to include the D.O.I. (Digital Object Identifier), if available.
Copy and paste the citation. Check capitalization and punctuation to make sure they are correct!
- Knight Cite from Calvin College LibraryThis website will create a citation for you. Select MLA, then select the type of work you are citing, such as a magazine, journal or book. If you got it from a database, select online and then type in the name of the database.
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
