A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
This database contains information from various reference books: Fifties, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties and Nineties in American; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals, The Middle Ages, Renaissance and The Ancient World; and Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century; Milestone Documents: African American History, American History and World HIstory.
The article discusses civil rights legislation and voting rights in the U.S. as of June 2013, with a focus on the life and work of civil rights activist John Lewis, who participated in the march to Montgomery, Alabama in 1965 in a demonstration for equal civil rights, which came to be known as "Bloody Sunday" for the attack on protesters by Alabama state troopers. Topics include efforts to register black voters; Lewis's career as a congressman from Atlanta, Georgia; and Lewis's role in the passage of the Voting Rights Act (VRA). Also discussed are the views of U.S. Supreme Court Justices on voting discrimination and voter suppression regarding a challenge to the VRA in 2013.
The article discusses the history behind the motion picture "Selma" directed by African American director Ava DuVernay and starring David Oyelowo and Carmen Ejogo, noting that the late U.S. civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. has not been the main subject of a film until "Selma" which was released on December 25, 2014. King's legacy and the battle for African American voting rights in the U.S. are mentioned. DuVernay's work on the film "Middle of Nowhere" is assessed.