LibGuides: March: Book One (Common Text 2015-2016): Engineering/Physics

Engineering/Physics Research Topics

The following research topics are related to "March (Book One)" and may be of interest to Engineering/Physics classes:

Why is the Edmund Pettus Bridge "structurally deficient" and how could it be fixed?
Discuss/Calculate the dimensions of the Edmund Pettus Bridge.
Vector analysis of "March on Selma"
What advances in computational methods in Engineering have been made since the 1960s?
Using Graphic Novels to teach Physics Fundamentals
Discrimination in the STEM Fields

Engineering Ethics by Charles B. Fledderman
Call Number: TA157 .F525 2008
ISBN: 0132306417
Publication Date: 2007-06-25
Failing at Fairness by David M. Sadker; Myra P. Sadker
Call Number: LC212.82 .S27
ISBN: 0684195410
Publication Date: 1994-02-14

To search for additional articles, choose a database from our A-Z list or search holdings for a specific periodical.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.

IEEE STEM Journals
The IEEE STEM Journals Collection covers numerous technology areas such as aerospace, computing, electrical engineering, robotics, and many more.
National Fire Codes Subscription Service All Access
NFCSS All Access provides online access to every NFPA® code, standard, and Handbooks. Written by leading electrical and fire protection authorities, Handbooks contain expert commentary and graphics to help clarify code concepts and eliminate confusion.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.

Use this box to search all NCC resources, including books, ebooks and articles from databases.

Engaging Teenagers with Science Through Comics
The article focuses on a study guided by identity theory and a model of interest development to assess the use of comic books for conveying science information. The study employs viruses as scientific content which is reviewed to disseminate, and provide evidence regarding the limited knowledge of general public. It mentions that key concepts are summarized to compare comic and essay formats for disseminating scientific information.

To search for additional articles, choose a database from our A-Z list or use the Search All box above.

How to Attract Female Engineers
The New York Times, April 27, 2015
Igniting STEM Through CTE
The article focuses on the role of Career and Technological Education (CTE) in developing STEM education. Topics discussed include the critical-thinking, problem-solving, communication and collaboration skills being the important traits within STEM fields, launch of several camps that provide opportunities for girls to enter into field of engineering which was previously meant only for boys and CTE helps in integrating several employability skills in the curricula of various disciplines.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed