It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business as far back as 1986. Includes financial data, books monographs, major reference works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
This full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Search All Box
Use this box to search all NCC resources, including books, ebooks and articles from databases.
The article discusses the impact of the death of two sanitation employees on labor rights in the U.S. The death of Echol Cole and Robert Walker, sanitation employees, has led to the protest of many other workers at the Memphis Department of Public Works. The tragic deaths of the two employees emphasized the intense personal costs of segregated and unjust employment in the country together with the assassination of Martin Luther King who is in the midst of struggle for the right to unionize, gave new urgency to the protest against injustice. On the other hand, workforce segregation denied most black citizens adequate access to education, job training and promotion.
To search for additional articles, choose a database from our A-Z list or use the Search All box above.
Using data from various sources to describe 1,077 U.S. cities, I examine the adoption of living wage legislation between 1995 and 2006. I analyze both the decisions to adopt such legislation and the timing of such decisions. My principal finding is that, while the size and political identity of the community play a significant role, the adoption of living wage legislation is also significantly influenced by local economic circumstances. An important implication is that researchers who seek to measure the economic impacts of the legislation must allow for its endogeneity, in order to separate its economic effect(s) from its economic cause(s).