LibGuides: Shakespeare's Tragedies: Prof. Giordano ENG 302: Databases and Articles

Play Overviews from Library Databases

Macbeth
Plot outline from: Macbeth, Bloom's Shakespeare Through the Ages
Key Passages in Macbeth
From: Macbeth, Bloom's Shakespeare Through the Ages

Literary Databases with Critical Analysis

Search these databases for scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles and reviews of Shakespeare's tragedies. Use advanced search to narrow your focus.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database: hundreds of streaming videos and more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, and 5,000 synopses of literary works.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Check out Shakespeare for Students under the Literature category.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Gale Literature (formerly Literary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Search Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series and Lit Finder through this one interface.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Overviews of characters, plot analysis, themes and meanings.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.

Scholarly Articles from the Databases

Macbeth: The Tragedy of Evil
Shanley, J. Lyndon. "Macbeth: The Tragedy of Evil." College English 22.5 (Feb. 1961): 305-311. Rpt. in Shakespearean Criticism. Ed. Michelle Lee. Vol. 119. Detroit: Gale, 2009. Literature Resource Center. Web. 26 May 2011

The articles below focus on evil in the play Macbeth. If you are off-campus, you will have to enter your N# and Pin to view the article. Reformat the MLA citations given for your paper!

The Moral Thinking of Macbeth
Keller, J. Gregory. "The Moral Thinking of Macbeth." Philosophy and Literature 29.1 (Apr. 2005): 41-56. Rpt. in Shakespearean Criticism. Ed. Michelle Lee. Vol. 100. Detroit: Gale, 2006. Literature Resource Center. Web. 26 May 2011.
Macbeth: A Lust for Power
Knights, L. C. "Macbeth: A Lust for Power." Some Shakespearean Themes. Quoted as "Macbeth: A Lust for Power" in Bloom, Harold, ed. Macbeth, Bloom's Shakespeare Through the Ages. New York: Chelsea House Publishing, 2007. Bloom's Literary Reference Online. Web. May 26, 2011.
Shakespeare's Conception of Moral Order in Macbeth
Tufts, Carol Strongin. "SHAKESPEARE'S CONCEPTION OF MORAL ORDER IN MACBETH." Renascence 39.2 (1987): 340-353. Humanities International Complete. EBSCO. Web. 27 May 2011
Macbeth
Jorgensen, Paul A. "Chapter 8: Macbeth." William Shakespeare: The Tragedies. Paul A. Jorgensen. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1985. Twayne's English Authors Series 415. Literature Resource Center. Web. 27 May 2011.
Macbeth and the Tragedy of Sin
Ken Colston. "Macbeth and the Tragedy of Sin." Logos: A Journal of Catholic Thought and Culture 13.4 (2010): 60-95. Project MUSE. Web. 27 May 2011.
Macbeth: The Pattern of Idea and Action
Irving Ribner Shakespeare Quarterly , Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring, 1959) , pp. 147-159
Published by: Folger Shakespeare Library in association with George Washington University

Print Articles

Some articles are not available in digital format but are excellent sources. They may be in the original print or in microfilm. Microfilm is outside Room 102 on the first floor of the Library.

P. Rama Murthy. "Fear in Macbeth." Essays in Criticism.XXIII.2(1973): 154-166.microfilm.

Low, Lisa. "Ridding Ourselves of Macbeth." The Massachusetts Review. 24.4 (1983): 826-837.microfilm.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed