LibGuides: Shakespeare's Tragedies: Prof. Giordano ENG 302: Articles and Databases

Literary Databases with Critical Analysis

Search these databases for scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles and reviews of Shakespeare's tragedies. Use advanced search to narrow your focus.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database: hundreds of streaming videos and more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, and 5,000 synopses of literary works.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Check out Shakespeare for Students under the Literature category.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Gale Literature (formerly Literary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Search Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series and Lit Finder through this one interface.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Overviews of characters, plot analysis, themes and meanings.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.

Overviews of the Play

King Lear
From King Lear, Bloom's Shakespeare Through the Ages.
King Lear
From Shakespearean Criticism. Ed. Janet Witalec. Vol. 83. Detroit: Gale, 2004. From Literature Resource Center.
Overview: King Lear
Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them. Joyce Moss and George Wilson. Vol. 1: Ancient Times to the American and French Revolutions (Prehistory-1790s). Detroit: Gale, 1997. From Literature Resource Center.

Scholarly Articles from Databases

Wisdom and Fortune: The Education of the Prince in Shakespeare's King Lear
Alulis investigates the thematic function of the Gloucester subplot in King Lear, particularly analyzing the symbolic conflict represented by Gloucester's sons, the good and just Edgar, and the evil, manipulative Edmund.
Alulis, Joseph. "Wisdom and Fortune: The Education of the Prince in Shakespeare's King Lear." Interpretation 21.3 (Spring 1994): 373-390. Rpt. in Shakespearean Criticism. Ed. Michelle Lee. Vol. 130. Detroit: Gale, 2010. Literature Resource Center. Web. 4 July 2011
Charity in King Lear
According to the author, "the theme with the highest emotional temperature is the theme of charity in human relations.The desperate need which human beings have for each other, and their paradoxical inability to satisfy that need."
Sears, Jayne. "Charity in King Lear." Shakespeare Quarterly 15.2 (1964): 277-88. JSTOR. Web. 4 July 2011.
"Look upon me, Sir": Relationships in King Lear
Discusses relationships in King Lear, specifically Edgar and Lear.
"Look upon me, Sir": Relationships in King Lear
Author(s): Richard C. McCoy
Source: Representations, Vol. 81, No. 1 (Winter 2003), pp. 46-60

Online Scholarly Articles

King Lear
This document was originally published in The Drama: Its History, Literature and Influence on Civilization, vol. 14. ed. Alfred Bates. London: Historical Publishing Company, 1906. pp. 39-44.
King Lear's Fool
by: Wilhelm Oechelhäuser

The following article was originally published in Shakespeare dramatische Werke, Einleitung. 1871

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	Closed
Saturday	Closed
Sunday	Closed